Ikhwanweb :: The Muslim Brotherhood Official English Website

Thu93 2020

Last update18:06 PM GMT

Back to Homepage
Font Size : 12 point 14 point 16 point 18 point
:: Issues > Election Coverage
Mubarak appoints remaining members of the Shura council
Mubarak appoints remaining members of the Shura council
A presidential decree has been announced appointing 44 members of the Shura Council. The list includes eight Copts, 11 women and former ministers, leading figures in the National Democratic Party (NDP), businessmen, and leaders from the Wafd Party.
Wednesday, June 23,2010 09:57

The decision was made after the Shura midterm elections took place early June. According to NGO and human rights organizations' monitoring, the integrity of the elections left much to be desired as thugs intimidated both candidates and supporters of the political opposition. Many detentions took place mostly from the Muslim Brotherhood bloc and some still remain detained.

The NDP alleged that it won over 95% of the seats denying there was rigging however many appeals have been submitted objecting to the measures used before, during and after the elections. Although the Shura Council which has 264 members of whom the president appoints one third has limited legislative powers the Shura elections sham indicates that the authorities will have no tolerance for any political opposition in both the upcoming Parliamentary elections and the presidential later in 2011.A constitutional amendment in 2005 gave its members the right to support an independent candidate in the presidential election. However, such a candidate would still have to obtain the approval of 250 members of the People's Assembly and local councils to be able to run in the election deeming the regulations extremely restrictive.

Among the newly appointed Shura council members are Ibrahim Mahlab, president of the Arab Contractors Company, Tharwat Bassily,  a Coptic billionaire and pharmaceutical investor,  Mufid Shehab, minister of state for legal affairs and parliamentary councils, Amr Ezzat Salama, a former minister of higher education, Mustafa el-Fiqi, member of the Policies Secretariat of the NDP, and Ferkhanda Hassan, secretary general of the National Council for Women, BahaaEddin Abu Shaqqa, a Wafd Party leader ,Ragaa Ateyya, a lawyer, and Mohamed Nagui el-Shehabi.

No members of the popular MB were appointed despite the fact that they had secured 88 seats in parliament in the 2005 elections.

tags: Mubarak / Shura / Elections / Shura council / NDP / Wafd Party / Human Rights Organizations / Political Opposition / Muslim Brotherhood Bloc / Presidential Election
Posted in Election Coverage  
Related Articles
Repercussions after Shura Council elections continue
MB Chairman: Violations in the Shura Council’s elections is beyond limits
MB Chairman “violations in the Shura Council’s elections is beyond limits”
Court clears the way for first MB Shura Council member-elect
MB chairman meets with candidates for Shura Council
MB's comprehensive proposal for Shura Council elections
Egypt: 4 MB arrests as nomination for Shura council approaches
Egypt's Shura Council elections: A gesture of democracy?
MB offshoot in Jordan the IAF ratify shura council poll results
Shura Council Calls On Emergency Government For Confronting Crises
Interview With The Head of Syrian Brotherhood Shura Council
Al-Erian: Current Detentions To Prevent MB From Shura Council Elections
MB in Al Fayyum To Run For Shura Council Elections
18 Candidates Manage to Register For Shura Council Elections
MB Shura Council Candidate In Al-Beheira Arrested
Muslim Brotherhood Statement On Day of Shura Council Midterm Elections June, 11, 2007
The Electoral Programme of the Muslim Brotherhood for Shura Council in 2007